Les Collines

Full-bodied and round


6.50 

This fine, full-bodied Merlot expresses notes of ripe red fruit, nicely set off by lovely hints of brioche and tobacco. The wine is fresh and velvety on entry and then shows a meaty, well-balanced character on the palate. The perfectly smooth tannins show a slightly toasted character.

 History

Château Saint Jean d’Aumières is located in the heart of the prestigious Terrasses du Larzac. The vine has been cultivated here since ancient times by the Romans, then by the Benedictine monks who founded the abbeys of Aniane and Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert at the turn of the 9th century.

 

 Terroir

Lying at the bottom of the Larzac foothills, the Château Saint Jean d’Aumières vineyards overlook the Hérault Valley where the cooler temperatures during the summer nights help the tannins in the grapes to fully ripen. Les Collines are our finest plots of Merlot in a location where this grape variety thrives thanks to the special local climate.

 

 Winemaking

After complete de-stemming, this Merlot is vinified traditionally, using pumping over and rack and return operations, at a controlled temperature with a two-week maceration. To hone the suppleness of the tannins, this wine then undergoes a partial blending in barrels.

Les Collines

Charpenté et rond


6.50 

Ce merlot fin et généreux, exprime des notes de fruits rouges mûrs, agréablement relevées par de belles nuances de brioche et de tabac. Une attaque fraîche et veloutée laisse place à une bouche charnue et équilibrée. Une note toastée accompagne les tanins parfaitement fondus.

 Histoire

Le Château Saint Jean d’Aumières est au cœur des prestigieuses Terrasses du Larzac. La vigne y fut cultivée dès l’Antiquité par les Romains, puis par les moines bénédictins qui ont fondé les abbayes d’Aniane et de Saint-Guilhem-le-Désert au tournant du IXe siècle.

 

 Terroir

Au pied des contreforts du Larzac, le vignoble du Château Saint Jean d’Aumières domine la Vallée de l’Hérault où les températures plus fraîches durant les nuits d’été facilitent la maturation des tanins. Les Collines sont nos plus belles parcelles de merlot, où ce cépage s’épanouit parfaitement grâce à ce climat local particulier.

 

 Vinification

Après égrappage total, ce merlot est vinifié en mode traditionnel, à l’aide de remontages et délestages, à température contrôlée avec une macération de deux semaines. Pour parfaire la souplesse des tannins ce vins fera ensuite l’objet d’un assemblage partiel en barriques.